How to use SlackDash

SlackDash is a secure client for Slack that lets you see multiple channels from multiple teams in the same screen view. You can add as many channels and teams as you like to the client.

How to Login:

There are two ways to login to from the SlackDash Login page:

Login using the 'Sign in with Slack' button:

  • Click on this button to bring up a list of Slack teams you have signed into using that browser.
  • Click on a team. This will bring up a Slack authorization screen. Click on the green Authorize button.
  • Once authorized, SlackDash will open up, showing your Timeline dashboard.
  • Next time you login: If you stay logged into the client you can use the Login button on Stacktodo.com, which will take you straight to your dashboard. If you logout of the client you will need to do the authorization process again, by selecting any one of your previously linked teams and clicking the green 'Authorize' button.

Using the bookmarklet:

  • If the login doesn't work it means your admin may have disabled bot integrations, which currently locks out any OAuth clients as well. In this case you can use our bookmarklet to sign in. See this page to find out how.

Client Screen Views:

SlackDash has two screen views: Home and Timeline. When you login to the client you will be taken to the Timleline view.

  • Timeline is your catch-up dashboard. It re-orders all channels (not just ones you have manually added to your Home dashboard) from your linked teams according to activity, with the most recent placed on the left. You can quickly scroll right to see up to 10 channels in this view. You can get to it by selecting Timeline in the top-left hand corner of the screen.
  • Home is your channel dashboard. It's a collective view of your chosen channels, and you can get to it by selecting Home in the top-left hand corner of the screen. You can have any number of channels in this view.

Editing channels (remove, move, customize):

After logging for the first time you will see your default channels in Timeline view. Next to each channel title you will see a white down arrow - this is the channel's edit button. Use this button (in both Timeline and Home views) to:

  • Remove a channel: select the Remove channel option from the dropdown.
  • Move a channel: select the Left and Right options from the dropdown.
  • Change channel width: select the Edit channel option and change the number in the Size field.
  • Change channel colours: select the Edit option and choose your theme color from the dropdown.

Adding new channels:

To add a new channel you need to be in the Home dashboard view.

  • Select the Add Channel icon in the top-right corner.
  • This will bring up a list of your linked teams. Select a team.
  • This will bring up a list of channels in that team. Select a channel and then Add.
  • It will also bring up a list of users in that team so you can create a DM column for them. To do this, select a user from the dropdown and then Add.
  • New channels appear in your Home view on the right-hand side.
  • All channels are added to your Timeline view.

Adding new teams:

You can link a new team in both Timeline and Home dashboard views.

  • Select the Teams icon in the top-right corner.
  • This will bring up a list of your linked teams. Select Add.
  • This will take you to the link team page. You can either link a new team via Slack, or using the Bookmarklet (as described above).
  • Select the 'add a Slack team' button and select a new team from the dropdown list. Then select the green Authorize button. You only need to do this once for each team.
  • Once linked, any channels with recent activity will automatically be shown in Timline view. To add channels from this team, follow the instructions above.
  • Repeat this process for any other teams.

Posting messages in a channel:

You can currently post a message to any channel from both Timeline and Home dashboard views using a text field at the bottom of the channel. This means you can chat in multiple channels simultaneously. Also;

  • SlackDash supports text, giphys, images, file attachments and emojis for messages that have been posted from Slack itself.
  • It doesn't yet support these features when sending a message from a channel column, which is currently text only, but we're working on it.

Logging Out:

To logout of the client go to Teams in the top-right hand corner and select logout. The next time you login to the client you will need to repeat the Slack authorization process. You can login using any team that has been previously linked and the client will remember all your linked teams and channels.